On turning 30

7 Sep
Congratulations to me! I’m really happy to be rid of my 20’s! Don’t get me wrong, they were really wonderful years but also really difficult. I always hear about how people change and grow when they are in their teens; not me. I grew into myself during my 20’s and I experienced a lot of growing pains.
At 20 years old I still ate meat, went to goth clubs (goth!), and I was living with a dude in a basement apartment!!!! I was so so so confused about everything in life. Who was it? Why am I living with somebody I’m not in love with? Will I ever travel? Will I ever be happy?…. I was graduating with an A.S. in fine art and about to leave for another college in upstate NY… One of these picture was taken in the basement, lol. Scary!
In my early 20’s I went vegan (check out me-on the right & my friend Jaime on life.com), started dating women exclusively, got involved in animal rights organizations, and moved out of that basement and into a pretty amazing Brooklyn loft.. And I partied a lot, protested a lot, and procrastinated that whole bachelors degree thing.
My mid 20’s were crazy… I chained myself to a building in protest of a deer cull, entered into a emotionally nightmarish relationship, I took a couple of trips to Europe, ended said nightmarish relationship, did a lot of yoga, became incredibly solitary and finally finished school.
In my late 20’s things got better. I met the love of my life and moved from Brooklyn to Atlanta! Atlanta was not my style but it was a welcome relief from my hectic life in NYC. My wife asked me to marry her a year and a half after meeting and we were married 4 months after that. 6 months after our wedding she got a job transfer and we moved to Massachusetts. We like to do things fast in this family.
So… Here I am…. 30.
I feel really good. I’m happily married, healthy, and living in a state that supports equal rights. We’re also trying to conceive! This month will mark try #4 and we have our finger crossed *big time*. This will be our only biological child but not the end of our growing family. We are hoping to become foster-to-adopt parents when we move into our forever home- which we’re saving for. Saving up for a home means we don’t do anything lavish lately but we still have fun 🙂 As a child I would always wonder what I would look like and what I would be doing at 15, 20, 25, 30… My memory stops there- I dont think I ever imagined what life would be like after 30…. It makes me really happy to know that after 30 I’ll be in a loving relationship and creating my own family. I’m so excited to see what the next decade holds!!!

4 Responses to “On turning 30”

  1. Gabrielle September 8, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    great story, love all the pics and good luck with your ttc, it’s a bit of an emotional roller coaster

    • Small Space September 8, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      Thanks so much! It’s been a crazy ride but hopefully it’ll end soon.

  2. Taffy Mac September 13, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Of course I had to check your blog out as soon as I found you’d commented on my blog. What a great post! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

    • Small Space September 13, 2012 at 3:38 am #

      Thanks so much for visiting 🙂 And ditto- I can’t wait to read more about your growing family!

Leave a comment