Soaking beans and BBQ baked beans recipe

8 Sep

My entire cooking past up until 3 years ago when I moved in with my future wife was pretty shameful. About 4 years ago I was invited to a vegan potluck and had to be walked through making guacamole- I didn’t know how to peel or slice an onion! Years earlier my mother asked me to boil pasta for dinner and after it was cooked-I left it in the water and didn’t strain it! A genius I am!!!!!!! So nowadays I’m a bit better at this whole cooking thing but I’m still very intimidated of the unknown. The thought of pressing tofu was enough to put me off from making it during the first 6 years of my veganism!

The latest obstacle I have overcome is SOAKING BEANS! Let me tell you, the thought of soaking beans seemed long, annoying and I seriously doubted my ability to make them taste as good as Goya. Well, what finally prompted me to take the leap was my aversion to tomatoes + cans and my love of canned baked beans (which use tomato). I believe firmly believe that canned food causes cancer, why? Check HERE, HERE and HERE. Canned tomatoes pose a particular threat because tomatoes contain a lot of acid and acid leaches the BPA from the cans and then you eat it and them BAM! CANCER! No thank you. 
 
So I finally got off my butt and soaked some beans! Of course I procrastinated and had to look up a recipe to quick-soak them which lead me to the 2 perfect ways to soak beans.
Okay- first off most quick soak directions don’t fully soak the beans so follow my directions.
1 cup dried beans. Many sites suggest checking for dirt and twigs… Um.. I don’t pick my own beans (I WISH!) and most bags you buy in the store are pre-washed.
A pot of water- Use any size pot that will hold 4+ cups of water.
Add beans to the water and bring to a boil.
Let it come to a rolling boil for 10 minutes and then lower to a simmer. Cover.
Let the beans simmer for about 2 hours and then they are ready to use in your recipe.
 
Over night soaking.
Follow the first 4 steps above but let the beans boil for 20 minutes.
Take off heat and let soak overnight. Check at some point to make sure there’s enough water in the pot. I use an excess of water because I’m lazy and don’t want to check on my beans! 
Here is my recipe for delicious BBQ Baked Beans! The photo below includes my BBQ baked beans, coconut rice and pineapple salsa from Oh She Glows and guacamole.
 
1/2 cup ketchup or tomato sauce
1/4 BBQ sauce
1 tsp liquid smoke
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp apple cider vinegar 
Pre-soaked beans (all beans from 1 cup of dried beans)
Whisk together ingredients
 
In a glass pan combine beans and  Sauce Mixture. You can also add any faux meat, pre-soaked TVP, or tofu at this point to make it even hardier. 
It is best to use a deep small pan/baking dish/cast iron skillet to keep thing moist. I use glass or cast iron.
 
Cover and bake at 350  for 30 minutes
*I cover my pan with another pan/baking dish- I don’t like to use aluminium for anything plus foil is a little wasteful. I use this method for anything I bake that needs to be covered (like lasagna).
Leave a Reply

