The First Three Months

23 May

positivepreg

We are overjoyed. After close to a year of trying I am finally, finally, finally pregnant. I started losing hope that this would ever happen but alas it did. We’re so incredibly happy and so are our families.

As soon as we could we started tracking my cycle. We’re so lucky that the first cycle after my miscarriage resulted in a pregnancy. At this point I am 18 weeks pregnant! Our little one is due October 25, 2013. I have my fingers crossed for a Halloween baby! At least the theme for many birthdays is already set in stone, I just hope our kid likes to dress up!
About two weeks after our big fat positive pregnancy test, the morning sickness kicked in. This was pretty intense, especially since I rarely feel ill. It all began with the dishes, dirty ones to be precise. The smell! Ugh, I just could not handle the smell of different foods together in the sink! Then began the food aversions.Literally everything besides the blandest things were repulsive to me. Pickles? YUCK. Cheap Chinese food (my favorite)? UGH. Coffee? No way. Onions? GAG!  Basically right up until the second week of my third month I lived on fruit, pb&j, toast, cereal, and vegan ice cream.
posfruit
I also experienced crazy fatigue those first 3 months. I napped all the time which was weird for me because I hate napping. I also felt dizzy a lot, especially while doing dishes. This was like ear-ringing, get to the couch NOW kind of dizzy. The weirdest symptom of all which still hasn’t gone away is SNEEZING!!!! It sucks. I sneeze like I have the worst allergies man has ever known. I have never had allergies and I’m praying to our sweet mother earth that this is a preggo thing!!!
By the second week of my third month I started to feel more pregnant and less sick. I still can’t smell onions without retching but I can happily eat pickles on my vegan burgers.
As for whether I will stay vegan or not, I will be staying vegan. Duh. Luckily nobody has asked me this but it seems most others get asked this a lot. Of course being vegan and a lesbian means I’ll probably have to eventually field questions or assumptions about a “father”. Thankfully we’re in liberal territory up here and thus far random people we’ve told about my being pregnant have not uttered a thing about the donor.
Well that’s all for now!
9 Responses to “The First Three Months”

  1. Candace May 25, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    Oh yayyy! Jaden’s birthday was October 27. I definately recommend holding out for a Scorpio, it’s a good thing to be. And ugh morning sickness – I had it for the first six months, I actuallly ended up losing weight. I could only eat (oh you’ll love this) red meat, cow’s milk, and grapefruit. Anything else, my body completely rejected, but people say that your body wants what it really needs, and I was pretty anemic, so I needed iron, calcium, and vitamin c, I guess. And of course, during the third trimester I could go back to eating anything, so it was like, a pan of brownies a day. To make up for all that weight loss, and then some 😦 I’m extremely proud of you, and soooo happy for you. Update this thing more often, we want to hear all about your journey to parenthood!

    • Small Space May 27, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      I’m so glad to hear he’s a Scorpio. I can’t think of anybody else I know that has that sign!!!! He’s such a sweet, kind, and chill kid; I hope we get lucky with the same!
      We both miss you a lot! JJ’s mom might be moving to Nashville… She’s not 100% certain but she’s seriously considering it. If she does that means whenever we visit, we can make the drive to Athens to see you all, which would be amazing. We’re trying to convince her it’s the right move.

  2. alexiasymvoulidou May 28, 2013 at 3:13 am #

    I am so happy you find me and then I found you, because I am getting married in …13 days (oh-my-god) and we are both vegans and planning for a vegan baby. We would already have started trying, but I want to drink at my wedding 🙂 Fair enough, right? Me and my partner are the only vegans in our families but we have been vegan for 1 year already so people know its not a joke anymore. I am doing crazy amounts of research to be able to say with confidence that being vegan and pregnant is a healthy choice, but there is no better proof than vegan moms and moms-to-be. So thank you 🙂 I will be following! Best of luck 🙂

    • Small Space May 28, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Congratulations!!!!!! My wife and I got married on Sept 10, 2011. We did the entire thing on our own (food, decorations, etc). It turned out great! We waited to start trying until after marriage for the same reason (lol) and because I wanted to be an “official” family when we started. Being vegan and pregnant is super easy as long as you’re eating the right things. Honestly, most people don’t eat as well as vegans do during pregnancy because they aren’t as aware! I hope you post about your upcoming wedding!!!! Pictures, pictures, pictures :):):)

      • alexiasymvoulidou May 29, 2013 at 5:16 am #

        Hey! I want to see pics of your wedding! Are there any online? Thank you for your wishes 🙂

      • Small Space May 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

        I should actually make a post with them. We don’t have them online but I’ll post them soon 🙂

      • alexiasymvoulidou May 29, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

        looking forward to seeing them 🙂

  3. sheridanasmith May 28, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    My best friend is pregnant, after having a miscarriage, and EVERYONE in her life is blaming her vegetarianism! Not even veganism. She has to fend off questions and comes to me for info to keep the wolves at bay. Very lucky that you don’t have to deal with that.
    Glad to hear you are doing well! Except for the no onions thing…they make up almost all of my diet!

    • Small Space May 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      That is cruel and terrible to even suggest it was her fault for miscarrying. Ugh. Luckily my family knows not to fuck around with my veganism, lol. Hopefully the onion thing goes away soon. The base of almost everything I used to cook was onion and garlic.

Leave a Reply

